

#### **Letter From The President**



Colleagues,

This year's NTU Hall of Fame Dinner was a huge success! What a feeling of joy to be in a room full of teachers, students, parents and yes, even some administrators, enjoying themselves while recognizing their achievements.

We thank all the sponsors, staff, and volunteers that helped make this event happen. Next year, we hope to make it even bigger and raise even more money for scholarships!

John M. Abeigon President/Director of Organization Newark Teachers Union

In Solidarity,

# **Presidential Scholarship Award Recipients**



Stephanie Alvarez (Technology High School)



Michael Butler, Son of Kathleen Murphy Butler (Park Elementary)

### **Scholarship Recipients**



Adebisi O. Adetoye, Daughter of Francisca Osuji (Belmont Runyon)



Charles Anello, Son of Ellen Anello (Arts High)



Lillianne Amaral, Daughter of Elsa Amaral (Wilson Ave)



Erica Cerbasio, Daughter of Susan Cassini Cerbasio (Roberto Clemente)

#### **Scholarship Recipients**



Nerfertiti Cooper (University High)



Sara Donnellan, Daughter of Josephine Donnellan (Elliott/Ridge)



Steven Gelman, Son of Kerry Beese (Lafayette St)



Zachariah Gonzalez, Son of Harry Gonzalez (Elliott, Clemente, Ridge)

# **Scholarship Recipients**



Denee Kathleen Saunders, Daughter of Locksley Saunders Jr (Belmont Runyon)



Erica Lassiter, Daughter of Roxanne Lassiter (Retired)



Aaliyah Spencer (University High)



Shavon Thomas, Daughter of Cynthia Reeder Thomas (Brick Peshine)

# **Member Recognition Recipients**



Joseph Dolahan (NJ Regional Day)



Kennis Fairfax (Arts High)



**Daisy Foreman (Gladys Hillman Jones)** 



Dania Pereira Greenstein (Lafayette St)

# **Member Recognition Recipients**



Carah Haskoor (McKinley)





Olive Lezama (Elliott St)

Sally Luciano (Benjamin Franklin)



Cheryl Matos (Office of Early Childhood)

# **Member Recognition Recipients**



Debbie Naporano (East Side High)



Jennifer Rijos (Wilson Ave)



Vivian F. Rivera (South St)



Lateefah Saleem (Camden St)

# NTU's Legacy Award— Christine "Roz" Samuels

This year, the Newark Teachers Union was proud to honor Christina "Roz" Samuels with our first ever Legacy Award.





Roz is a lifelong Newarker and was a vital part of strengthening and growing the Newark Teachers Union. To this day, she is an active member of the labor community.























#### **NEWARK TEACHERS UNION**

#### **NTU Staff**

Editor/Director of Research Mike Maillaro mmaillaro@newarkteachersunion.com

Special Thanks to Leandro DaSilva (East Side High School) and his students Roselyn Herrera, Jaqueline Huapaya, and Richard Guaman Lema for the terrific photography featured through this booklet

Assistant to Secretary/Treasurer Subrina Screven sscreven@newarkteachersunion.com

> General Counsel Eugene Liss

Education Resource Department Johanna Rios Marysol Ocasio

> Part-Time Staff Reps Robert Palumbo John Alvino

Security/Maintenance James Santiago

Newark Teachers Union Local 481, AFT, AFL-CIO

1019 Broad Street Newark, NJ 07102 Phone: 973-643-8430 Fax: 973-643-8435 Fax: 973-242-5880

http://newark.nj.aft.org

Executive Board

John M. Abeigon, President/Director of Organization Michael Iovino, Secretary/Treasurer

#### **Vice Presidents**

Victor Afonso

Noor Alam Juan Alvarez Chris Canik Ronnie D. Carney Timothy Carr Donna Charles Priscilla Covington John Cunha

Josephine Donnellan

Samuel Galves

Nancy Gianni

Keshia Green

**Clarence Jones** 

Alicia Malave-Diaz
Anthony Moreno
Jerry Moore
Kathleen Murphy-Butler
Justin Petino
Marisa Rodriguez
Jennifer Ramos
Misha Smith
Cassandra Talmadge

**Yvette Jordan** 

**Neil Thomas** 

**Tennile Wasek** 

Carmen Lopez Wolf