Take Action against Corporate Charters!

The Corporate Charter Schools are pushing hard to expand and build more schools, which will siphon critical funds needed for PUBLIC SCHOOLS.  Current law specifically prohibits taxpayer money from being used by charter schools for facilities, and the charter school industrial complex is pushing through a law to try and change that.  

If charter schools continue to expand, that will mean less money for the Newark Board of Education, which could ultimately have a negative impact on our upcoming contract negotiations. 

2023 Scholarship and Hall of Fame Induction

The NTU Education Foundation is proud to announce its 2023 Albert Shanker Scholarship Awards and Hall of Fame Induction. 

In 2019, twenty students received academic scholarships, including two Presidential Awards in the amount of $2,500.00, four Executive Awards in the amount of $1,750.00 and the rest in the amount of $1,000.00.

Union Plus

What are some of the benefits of AFT Membership that most people don't know about?